What to do if I’m injured at Work
Despite laws regarding safe work practices and safety measures, workplace accidents are commonplace. When an accident does occur, both the injured worker and the employer must take certain steps. Under New Jersey law, almost any full or part time employee can file a workers’ compensation claim to obtain benefits for the damages related to an occupational injury or illness.
If you suffered an injury at work or have been diagnosed with an occupational illness, one of the most important steps you must take is oftentimes the most simple – report your injury. The experienced work injury attorneys at New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Attorney Group cannot stress the importance of notifying your supervisor of a work-related injury or illness. Oftentimes a worker will take a wait and see approach because his or her injury or illness does not require immediate medical attention. Don’t wait to report your injury. You may be shocked to learn you can’t move forward with the claims process.
Work Injury Attorney in New Jersey
If you fail to report your injury or illness within 90 days of the accident or within 90 days of becoming aware of the illness, your employer and their insurance carrier can deny you medical treatment and out of work income compensation. It’s also important to note that if your employer denies you benefits, your private insurance carrier may also deny you coverage for a work-related injury.
Even if you think you are not seriously hurt, it’s best to report the accident immediately. If you can, provide your employer with a written notice. When dealing with for profit insurance carriers, it’s best to document any conversations you have with your employer. Also, keep and safely store any paperwork you receive from your employer and their insurance carrier.
Work Injury Lawyer in New Jersey
After reporting the accident and resulting injury, it would be wise to seek the guidance of an aggressive work injury lawyer at New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Attorney Group right away. They will gladly answer any questions you have about the work comp system and tell you how their representation can benefit you. There’s a misconception among the public that attorneys are just out to get your money, but the caring work comp attorneys in our group have made it their mission to help suffering individuals get the tools they need to move towards a brighter future. With their legal knowledge and resources working for you, you are much more likely to get a better case outcome.
Work Injury Attorneys in New Jersey
It won’t cost you a thing to get a free referral to a top work comp lawyer, so don’t let one more day pass by without calling New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Attorney Group. We work with only the best work injury attorneys in the state and pride ourselves on the level of referrals we offer clients. You can reach us one of two ways – by calling 973-500-4010 or by sending us a case contact form. When you contact us, we’ll set up an appointment for you to discuss your case with an attorney we’ve personally selected for you. The initial consultation is free and should you decide to work with the lawyer we chose for you, they’ll take your case on a no recovery, no fee basis.